Favorite music bands & artists #1- Elbow

Favorite music bands & artists #1- Elbow

28725_1442080417867_1408777127_1237497_5262884_n

From the early 90ies that I begun working, I was able to buy and follow the music at the time of the release. The british scene was beginning to give the first signs of the “brit pop”. I ignored Oasis and Blur and went straight ahead for Radiohead. And then at the end of the decade another group started recording an album, that upon its release in 2001, captured my attention. It was Elbow’s-Asleep in the back. The sound was so mature and exquisite, that when I heard that they are coming in Greece for a headline appearance at a small open air festival at Laurio, I was surprised and asked a friend to get me inside. It turns out that the festival was not such a huge sucess and when I arrived the security didn’t ask for a ticket. I just went in. I was in front of the stage, listening carefully and taking photos on a b&w film, while everyone behind me was talking and not paying too much attention. One of the few bands that I still follow.

8 thoughts on “Favorite music bands & artists #1- Elbow

        • Thanks for your comment! Yes Doves is another great band, have 4 of their albums and many of their 10” and 7” singles. Unfortunately never seen them live.

          A spoiler, but since you are here, my favourite bands are in random order:
          Mark Knopfler & Dire straits
          Hefner ans Darren Hayman various projects
          Belle and Sebastian
          J.J. Cale
          Radiohead
          Elbow
          Nick Cave
          Pink Floyd
          Fleetwood Mac
          Jimi Hendrix
          Marvin Gaye
          Television and Tom Verlaine
          The Beatles
          The Kinks
          Pixies
          Neil Young
          Bob Dylan
          Tortoise
          The for carnation
          Godspeed you black emperor
          Sigur Ros
          and many more, I will mention them in time!
          By the way I do like to focus on specific works rather than bands, but so it happens that the above artists have a body of work that I enjoy for many years.
          For instance I love the first 2 Zutons albums but then they were disappointments. Starsailor’s first was my favorite for 2003 (I think) but then they could never match it. Franz Ferdinand made an excellent job at their debut, came up with a good sophomore, but the third was a flop. And the songs I heard from their new one didn’t make me to go buy it either. Coral’s first two were awesome, but then the surprise was gone.
          I have made a list of loved albums, long ago, needs updating, but will upload it.
          But of course living in Greece is not the best place to see your favorite bands. They simply don’t come! So since this is mainly a photo blog, I will have to focus on the favourite bands that I have actually photographed.

  1. I like Radiohead but why do you gotta hate on Oasis? Ya gotta respect a singer who when he sings is completely clear but when he talks in an interview; you can’t understand a word he is saying!

  2. Don’t get me wrong, I like some of their songs and I have some of their records, but it was more hype than substance. And their sound had so many loans from the Beatles and other bands that they shouldn’t be so arrogant in their interviews. Blur, well they were more original and lo profile. No wonder that they are still producing respectable works. That is the answer in case you weren’t ironic! 😉

Leave a Reply

