Vinyl Microstore

_MG_5390

_MG_5392

_MG_5393

_MG_5394

_MG_5396

_MG_5398

_MG_5404

_MG_5405

_MG_5407

_MG_5408

_MG_5409

The most beautiful music store in Athens. Hands down.

When I was a bit younger, mid 90ies, I went to live downtown Athens. About the same time, one little record store opened in a nearby place, at 34 Didotou street. Apart from bringing the records I used to listen, it was a fine place to hung around, since it was stylish, had very kind and yet humourous people helping you to find whatever you were looking for (and sometimes discuss with you about the meaning of life), you could listen to the records you intented to buy, had live gigs (Yuria), had an internet radio station  and last but not least it had its own record label (pop art) that issued some of the most forward thinking music in Greece.
It is still there, doing pretty much the same beautiful things and adorning Athens with its presence. I have mentioned it in 1-2 of my posts and it was time to deliver a post dedicated solely to it.
Find more about it here: http://www.vinylmicrostore.gr/

12 thoughts on “Vinyl Microstore

  1. Just rediscovering a second hand record and CD store near us which features such classics as “The speeches of Spiro Agnew” and “Music to Woodwork by”. Even though we can get everything on line, we are starting to buy old CDs… but not records (yet).

    • Spent my youth in record shops, bookshops, libraries and dark rooms, but I think that the record shops in a way combine everything. The visual part of the record, the discovery of an obscure artist, the music as a soundtrack of our life. And if you also have a friendly and knowledgeable person to talk to, and a homey cozy place to do all these, it is heaven. In VM, they even have cassette tapes! New releases in that obsolete format! I love my old mix tapes and hope to find the time to put them in CDs, in order to save them when my tape recorder stops working!
      If someone has the time, it would be fan to buy Spiro Agnew, sample it and mix it with diverse music to create a new art! Many track loads of cheap old vinyl have come from the USA, the last 25 years. People there must have sold everything and replaced it with CDs. Too bad!

  2. I still have my turntable and bunch of LPs. Don’t find time to listen them. However, there is a shop in Lahore where they transfer/record an old LP to a CD. In this way I get to listen to clean music. My CD player is modified (DIY) to have a tube stage. It sounds great. Warm, sweet and very analogue.

    • This is a nice way to listen to music Dr!
      I totally love vinyl. I prefer it over the CD and buy what I like and can afford on vinyl. I have my turntable MKII, always ready!

  3. An insider’s view of this awesome place… thank you! I don’t listen to vinyl at home anymore but I’d definitely pass by VM when in Athens! Perhaps there’ll even be a yuria session… will keep an eye.

Leave a Reply

